Flood Insurance Bill Signed Into Law ... Last Minute Change Makes Effective Date 11/20/14

Do You Know the Answer to MAIA's Question of the Day?

SERVICES

Manuals / CDs
Registry Procedures ebook, Webinar CDs...

Company Rate Filings for Homeowners
MAIA's Review of Company Filings for Homeowners

Heartland Ovation Payroll
MAIA's endorsed provider for payroll services...

Number One Agency - Newsletter Archive

Question of the Day
Question of the Day


 

Association Information

Click on the links below for the following:
Check out MAIA's listing of... Local Agents' Associations
MAIA has recently revised our logo to
co-brand with the Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America (IIABA) logo. We encourage our members to put the Big "I" logo on their websites to identify them as an Independent Insurance Agent.

Visit our LOGO webpage [ website login required ] to download logos.
GENERAL INFORMATION
Phone Numbers
Local: (508) 634-2900
Toll Free: (800) 972-9312
Fax: (508) 634-2929
Education Toll Free: (800) 222-2699
TECH Hotline: (800) 870-7091
#1 Agency Local Phone: (508) 634-2902
#1 Agency Toll Free: (800) 742-6363
#1 Agency Fax: (508) 634-2930
Location & Hours of Operation

The Massachusetts Association of Insurance Agents (MAIA) is located at 91 Cedar Street, Milford, MA 01757. Our hours of operation are Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. except during scheduled holidays.

Directions
From the Massachusetts Turnpike:

MAIA Headquarters, 91 Cedar Street, Milford, MA 01757- (508) 634-2900
or (800) 972-9312




MAIA’s offices are located on Cedar Street (Route 85) in Milford approximately 1/4 mile south of Exit 20 off of I-495. We are just two exits — about 10 miles — south of the MA Turnpike (I-90) and 15 miles north of I-95. There is ample free parking and many hotels, restaurants, and other services nearby.

Mass Pike to Exit 11A to I-495 South.  Take I-495 south to Exit 20 (Route 85 South).  At end of ramp
go right  straight thru sets of lights, MAIA is
third building on the left.    

From 495 North: Exit 20, at end of ramp go left at lights. Go through 1 more set of lights and MAIA is third building on the left. This is Route 85. (We are only approximately 1/2 mile from Rte 495.) 

 
2014 Holiday Schedule
The association's staff members will enjoy the following holidays with their families:
January 1, 2014 New Year's Day
February 17, 2014 President's Day
April 21, 2014 Patriot's Day
May 26, 2014 Memorial Day
July 4, 2014 Independence Day
September 1, 2014 Labor Day
October 13, 2014 Columbus Day
November 11, 2014 Veteran's Day
November 27, 2014 Thanksgiving Day
November 28, 2014 Day After Thanksgiving
December 25, 2014 Christmas Day
December 26, 2014 Day After Christmas
2014 BOARD OF DIRECTORS
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
CHAIRMAN
Thomas F. Skelly, Jr., CIC, LIA, AAI
Deland Gibson & Skelly Insurance Agency
36 Washington Street
Wellesley, MA 02481

Tel: 781-239-7626 (direct)
Fax: 781-237-4903
E-mail: tskelly@delandgibson.com
CHAIRMAN-ELECT
Raymond Sirois, AAI
Personal Lines Manager
Martini Insurance Agency, Inc. 
6 Common Street, P.O. Box 565
Woburn, MA 01801
Tel: 781-935-0220
Fax: 781-933-9445
E-mail: rsirois@martiniinsurance.com
VICE CHAIRMAN
G.L. (Lee) Gaudette, III, CPCU
Gaudette Insurance Agency, Inc.
1 Plummers Corner
Whitinsville, MA 01588
Tel: 508-234-6333
Fax: 508-234-8121
E-mail:
lee@gaudette-insurance.com
SECRETARY-TREASURER
Glen E. Davis, CIC, LIA
Provider Insurance Group, Inc.
160 Gould Street, Suite 130
Needham Heights, MA 02494

Tel: 781-444-0347
Fax: 781-444-8461
E-mail:
gdavis@providerig.com
STATE NATIONAL DIRECTOR, IIABA
Raymond D. Gallant
Gallant Insurance Agency
199 Great Road, P.O. Box 975
Acton, MA 01720
Tel: 978-263-3500
Fax: 978-263-1438
E-mail: rgallant@gallantins.com
IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIRMAN
Richard A. Perras
Finck & Perras Insurance Agency, Inc.
6 Campus Lane
Easthampton, MA 01027
Tel: 413-527-3000
Fax: 413-527-5970
E-mail: rperras@finckandperras.com
BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Beth Sylvia Caldwell, CIC
Sylvia & Company Insurance Agency, Inc.
500 Faunce Corner Road
Building 100, Suite 120
Dartmouth, MA 02747

Tel: 508-742-9222
Fax: 508-742-9322
E-mail:
bcaldwell@sylviainsurance.com
Faith Canario
Braley & Wellington Insurance Agency
44 Park Avenue, P.O. Box 15127
Worcester, MA 01615
Tel: 508-754-7255
Fax: 508-797-3507
E-mail:
fcanario@braleywellingtongroup.com
Benjamin Cavallo, CIC, AAI, CISR
Cavallo & Signoriello Insurance Agency
P.O. Box 406
Mansfield, MA 02048
Tel: 508-339-2951 x 111
Fax: 508-339-4811
E-mail:
ben@candsins.com
Joan DeCoste, CPCU, ARM, LIA
Walter J. May Agency
188 Whiting Street
Hingham, MA 02043
Tel: 781-749-4310
Fax: 781-749-1714
E-mail:
jdecoste@waltermayinsurance.com
Thomas DePaulo, CIC
Meridian Insurance Agency
296 Bennington Street
East Boston, MA 02128
Tel: 617-567-5710
Fax: 617-567-1027
E-mail:
tdepaulo.boydi03@insuremail.net
George F. Doherty, CPCU, CIC, AAI, MBA
The Corcoran & Havlin Insurance Group
287 LInden Street, P.O. Box 9011
Wellesley, MA 02482

Tel: 781-235-3100
Fax: 781-235-7190
E-mail:
gdoherty@chinsurance.com
Carl R. Goveia, CIC
Benson, Young & Downs Insurance Agency
P.O. Box 559
Provincetown, MA 02657

Tel: 508-487-8188
Fax: 508-487-4135
E-mail:
carlgoveia@byandd.com
Edward J. Juliano
P.S. Dolan Insurance Service
1575 Main Street. P.O. Box 3067
Brockton, MA 02304
Tel: 508-586-2186
Fax: 508-586-1839
E-mail:
edjuliano@psdolaninsurance.com
Ely Kaplansky, CIC, CPIA, LIA
Kaplansky Insurance Agency
114 Harvard Street
Brookline, MA 02446

Tel: 617-738-5400
Fax: 617-738-8214
E-mail:
ekaplansky@kaplansky.com
John F. Koegel
Eastern Insurance Group LLC
233 West Central Street
Natick, MA 01760
Tel: 508-620-3317
Fax: 508-651-4617
E-mail:
jkoegel@easterninsurance.com
Daniel T. Morse, CIC
Morse Insurance Agency, Inc.
285 Washington Street
North Easton, MA 02356
Tel: 508-238-0056
Fax: 508-230-8367
E-mail:
danmorse@morseins.com
Dennis F. Murphy, III, CFP, CPCU, ARM, CLU
D. F. Murphy Insurance Agency, Inc.
50 Main Street
Hudson, MA 01749
Tel: 978-568-8711
Fax: 978-567-6436
E-mail:
dfmurphyiii@dfmurphy.com
Steven Roy, CIC
Elliot Whittier Insurance Services
75 Sylvan Street, Suite B202
Danvers, MA 01923

Tel: 978-568-8711
Fax: 978-977-0850
E-mail:
sroy@elliotwhittier.com
Julie Ryan
Berkshire Insurance Group, Inc.
Berkshire Bank Family of Insurance Agents
66 West Street
Pittsfield, MA 01201

Tel: 413-553-3402
Fax: 413-499-3918
E-mail:
jryan@berkshireinsurancegroup.com
John R. Sweeney, CISR, CIC
John R. Sweeney Insurance Agency
56 Union Street
West Springfield, MA 01089

Tel: 413-732-5465
Fax: 413-732-5450
E-mail:
john@johnrsweeneyins.com
Stephen Tarpey, CIC, CPCU
Tarpey Insurance Group, Inc.
347 Central Street, P.O. Box 990
Saugus, MA 01906

Tel: 781-233-9050
Fax: 781-231-8151
E-mail:
steve@tarpeyinsurance.com
John Woods, Jr., CPCU
Thomas J. Woods Insurance Agency
20 Park Avenue, P.O. Box 2940
Worcester, MA 01613
Tel: 508-755-5944
Fax: 508-791-9841
E-mail: jwoods@woodsinsurance.com
STAFF LISTING
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
Francis A. Mancini, Esq.
President & CEO
fmancini@massagent.com 
Oversees all aspects of the association and service corporation. Coordinates lobbying efforts on Beacon Hill.  Answers legal questions from members.  

Kathleen C. Bardsley
Assistant to President & CEO
Assistant to VP of Government Affairs & General Counsel

Executive Director, MassAHU
kbardsley@massahu.org
 

Assists the President with correspondence, inquiries, and requests.  Handles communications and planning for board meetings. Assists VP of Goverment Affairs with correspondence and legislative matters.
Administers all aspects of the Massachusetts Association of Health Underwriters (MassAHU) including membership, board of directors and annual meeting.
COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT
Donna M. McKenna
Vice President of Communications
dmckenna@massagent.com
Oversees all MAIA communications, including newsletters, bulletins, and promotional pieces.  Assists members with questions on Registry procedures, private passenger auto insurance and Merit Rating. 
Kathy S. Cormier
Member Support Specialist
kcormier@massagent.com 
Responds to member requests for information on Registry procedures, personal auto issues, company financial ratings, and MAIA publications. 
LEGAL DEPARTMENT
Daniel J. Foley, Jr., Esq., CAE
Vice President of Government Affairs & General Counsel 
dfoley@massagent.com 
Offers legal advice/assistance to members on insurance laws and regulations as well as general business legal matters. Reviews & monitors legislative/and General Counsel regulatory activities at both federal and state levels.  Drafts legislation and lobbies on Beacon Hill.    
FINANCIAL DEPARTMENT
Patricia Loonie
Vice President of Finances
ploonie@massagent.com 
Manages all accounting and financial reporting for the service corporation. 
Christopher Kocur
Accounting Manager
ckocur@massagent.com 
Maintains membership data base and yearly dues billing, processes accounts payable and all association product orders.
D. Ping Chen
Accounting Manager
dpchen@massagent.com 
Manages all accounting and financial reporting for the Number One Insurance Agency.
INFORMATION SYSTEMS DEPARTMENT
Leo J. Fredette
Systems Administrator/ Consultant 
lfredette@massagent.com 
Manages all aspects of the computer network and provides support for personal computer applications and hardware.  Serves as outside consultant to members.  Conducts technology-related seminars.
TECHNICAL AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT
Irene Morrill, CPCU, CIC, CRM, CRIS, CPIW, LIA, ARM
Vice President of Technical Affairs
imorrill@massagent.com 
Instructor for CIC, CISR, basic, intermediate and advanced classes (personal & commercial topics); Convention speaker; Author of TECH Talk and answers TECH Online and TECH Hotline; Designs coverage seminars and Personal Lines P&S Training; Reviews & maintains resource materials 
RECEPTIONISTS
Jane Wennerberg
Receptionist   
Answers busy switchboard and greets public during the morning.   
Dina Pontolilo
Receptionist  
Answers busy switchboard and greets public during the afternoon.   
EDUCATION DEPARTMENT
Heather Kramer, CIC
Vice President of Training
hkramer@massagent.com 
Oversees all educational offerings. Manages and organizes the Five Star Designation program. Responds and services member inquiries. 
Debra White, CISR
Program Coordinator
dwhite@massagent.com 
Coordinates CIC program and In-House offerings. Responds and services member inquiries. 
Carol Nelson, AIAM
Program Coordinator
cnelson@massagent.com 
Coordinates closings of education program and maintains appropriate records. Responds and services member inquiries.
MARKETING DEPARTMENT
Melinda B. Cordner, CAE
Vice President of Operations/
Marketing & Convention Services 
mcordner@massagent.com 
Manages the day-to-day operations of the association.  Oversees the design, production and mailing schedules of all marketing programs.  Organizes and runs the annual convention.  
Sheron Gagnon
Marketing Assistant
& Trade Fair Manager
sgagnon@massagent.com 
Administers all product & subscription services.  Assists Vice President with all meeting functions and the annual convention. Manages Trade Fair for the annual convention. 
Melissa Murphy, CIC
Marketing Specialist
mmurphy@massagent.com 
Acts as the marketing liaison for the Number One Insurance Agency and MassAHU. Assists in the design and production of marketing programs. Social Media lead.
Emily B. Oliver
Designer
eoliver@massagent.com 
Creates and updates promotional material for print and electronic communications.
Marc Emery
Print Production Specialist
memery@massagent.com 
Handles print production/copy center responsibilities.  Coordinates shipping & receiving services. 
Roberto Castro
Custodian/Maintenance
Responsible for classroom setup, cleaning and upkeep of the facility.
AGENCY SERVICES/ INSURANCE SERVICES DEPARTMENTS
Ann Tobin, CISR, CIC
Agency Manager

atobin@massagent.com 
Responsible for the day-to-day operations of
The Number One Insurance Agency.
Ellen Stoppel
E&O & Agents' Commercial
Umbrella Program Manager
estoppel@massagent.com 
Administers the Association's E&O and Penn National Commercial Umbrella Programs.
Michelle St. Angelo, CISR
Agents' & Lawyers' E&O Program Manager

mstangelo@massagent.com 
Administers the Association's Agents' E&O and the Lawyers' Professional Liability Programs.
Colleen Lahna
WC Program Manager
Liquor Liability Program Manager
clahna@massagent.com 
Administers the Association's Workers' Compensation and Liquor Liability Programs.
Barbara Lobdell, CISR
WC Underwriting Manager
blobdell@massagent.com 
Underwrites the Association's Workers' Compensation Programs.
Linda Hafner
RLI Program Manager

lhafner@massagent.com 
Administers the Associations' RLI Personal Umbrella and
Home Business Insurance Programs.
Karen Tobin
WC & RLI Assistant Program Manager

ktobin@massagent.com 
Assists with quoting, data entry and mail processing for the Workers' Compensation and RLI Insurance Programs.